2023 Year in Review: I was 75% a happy person this year

2023 Year in Review: I was 75% a happy person this year

You see when the idea of the title of my year in review first occurred to me (which was in August), it was initially 80%, not 75%. As you read on, you will find out why it dropped.

A little Backstory

Let's start from the beginning, January. If you are conversant with the education sector in Nigeria, you will know that in 2022, federal universities were on a year-long strike. During that period, the trajectory of my life changed, never to be the same again. It was during this time that I got started with AltSchool Africa to begin a one-diploma program in software engineering. So when the strike got called off and I had to be back in school in January 2023, it felt like a drawback. It was in fact a drawback, and for two reasons. First, I had zero interest in what I was studying. Second, I disliked where I was schooling. However, I knew I was going to be there for at least 10 months, and there was no point being sad about it for that long. I decided to make the best of it and so I did!

The First Quarter

January to March was pure bliss. My life was good, and it felt too good to be true for me. I was content and happy. I was doing what I loved—software development and technical writing—while managing what I didn't like—school.

In the first quarter of the year, I got accepted into the technical writing program of some technical publications. I also did a bit of ghostwriting for an AWS thingy.

It was also in January that I started to earn in dollars from technical writing and then went on to do it multiple times🤭

In this first quarter, I was accepted into FreeCodeCamp as a contributing writer. All of these while being less then one year in tech.

Graduating from AltSchool Africa

Whenever I talk about AltSchool, I get sort of emotional and it's literally because they helped me kickstart my software development journey. Prior to March 2022, I was unfamiliar with software development and all that it entailed. Now here I was learning to code my way through a world of endless possibilities and carving a career path for myself.

I graduated and I'm particularly proud of myself because I could have dropped off when it got tough. Especially because I was juggling this while in my last year of school. It got tasking considering that I had to show up for online classes, attend the workshops organized for us, and make progress on our learning platform resources amidst the project exams we were given and algorithms we had to solve. Not to mention the personal tasks and goals I set for myself.

All of this while being a final-year student getting my formal education. There were late nights and early mornings. Things got intense quickly, and I had to efficiently employ time management skills.

Overall, it all paid off becauseeeeee....

Career Growth and Projection

I'm very pleased with the career path I'm taking; it gives me an unrivaled sense of purpose and fulfillment. Every learning curve came with its challenges, but not without the thrill. It also helps me prove to myself I can do everything I put my mind to. Even though I've only been in this space for over a year I've achieved feats that I didn't think I could.

I got invited as a speaker on Twitter spaces to share my knowledge. I got to write for known organizations. I expanded my network. I'm learning and growing in public on Twitter. I'm leveraging LinkedIn to grow my connections and build my personal brand. I made and am still making great and impactful friends, and I'm an active part of the tech community.

Personal Growth

This part gets me all giddy. Firstly, I've become a gym enthusiast. I went from about 80kg to 62kg. I work out consistently and I love being at the gym. I became self-aware and grew my confidence. I intentionally nurtured my femininity and fell wholly in love with myself. I fell in love with music. I also started journaling and it's a beautiful experience. Finally, I graduated from uni and got my BSc. degree amidst the difficulties.

Gratitude

For 2023, I'm particularly grateful for how I lived and how intentional with my life I was. I decided on the kind of life I want for myself and mapped out a plan for it, and I'm following it through. It's in my waking and sleeping thoughts. I never lose sight of the bigger picture. With each goal I accomplish, the more motivated I am. I'm proud of the person I was this year. Staying afloat even when the circumstances were sometimes beyond my control or unfavorable. It wasn't a bed of roses, but I remained consistent.

I'm also grateful I got to discover what I want to do with my life in good time. Is being in tech tough? Absolutely, but I was made for this, I believe😄

The 25%

Now here's the part about why I wasn't 100% a happy person this year. You know what they say about when life gives you lemons...

First of all, in May, I was burgled in my apartment in school and my phone was stolen. It took a toll on me mentally because of the creepy and terrifying way it happened. I wouldn't bore you with the details, but eventually, I moved to a new apartment and got another device.

I didn't get into a writer's program for a publication I was one leg in already. By the time I got into the writing tasks stage, it coincided with my school's field trip to different states, so I couldn't give my best. I was removed from the Slack channel. What's worse is as I write this article, my friend tells me they've laid off all writers from Africa.

In July, one publication I write for closed its writing program, which means a source of income was cut.

I couldn't get to contribute to Open source as much as I'd have loved to. This is something I enjoy doing—fostering the open source community. However, with limited time, I had to cut back on it.

I didn't get into two of the tech programs I wanted to. This hurt mostly because, for both of them, I got into the first stages and then it just didn't happen eventually. But as Albert Einstein would say, never give up applying (Of course he didn't say that!)

The layoffs this year were wild. From Amazon to Meta to Google to Microsoft to Yahoo to other startups and fintechs. It was a rollercoaster. Of course, this had a ripple effect. Imagine the impact on Africa and then on Nigeria, a third-world country.

What's for 2024?

Grand things. That's what's for 2024.

I'm manifesting great things for 2024 because I have high expectations and I'll put in the work to see those great things actualized. I plan to take everything I do now a notch higher, especially now that I'm done with school and have more time.

First, I'm going to be developing my technical skills a lot more. Learning about the frameworks and technologies I couldn't get to complete and building with them.

I'm also going to get back to open-source, especially writing documentation and improving on some of the things I started learning but didn't finish. I'd also get more involved in speaking engagements!

My personal development paid off in 2023 so I'm going to keep at it and get better in 2024.

There's also going to be "babygirling". I need that!

Of course, my body-building journey continues.

I'd also be getting started with a few new things in my career and see where that takes me. Plus, there's going to be more smart work than hard work.

"A bit of Aspire to Perspire"

What's a year in review without giving your readers some motivation and hope?

This year was generally tough for most people. What's with the recent economy and stiff competitiveness in trying to land a job in tech? There's also the effect of the layoffs that affected emerging tech startups.

So if you couldn't tick off all of your goals for 2023, don't beat yourself too much for it. Give yourself grace knowing you did your best, and with an actionable plan this time, go again in 2024.

Putting it All Together

This is the first time I'll be writing my year-in-review, and I have looked forward to it since the middle of the year. I'm grateful for all the blessings and lessons this year has brought me. I'm positive everything worked together for my good, and 2023 was just the stepping stone that'd usher me into greater things going forward. I'm also thankful to myself for not folding when the folding got tough.

I wouldn't end this without appreciating all the amazing people who made this year worthwhile for me, my dear friends. Y'all were sources of happiness and inspiration. And to my God, I say a big thank you for taking care of me.

2023 is a wrap!

Ciao, and hey, let me be the first to wish you a happy 2024 🎈

I'd like to connect with you. You can find me here.

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Esther Christopher by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!